16th OEB Cyprus

Innovation Award Competition

The ceremony of the OEB Cyprus Innovation Awards and the Research Awards for 2022 took place at the Strovolos Municipal Theater on December 16th 2022.

The Cyprus Employers and Industrialists Federation (OEB) and the Research and Innovation Foundation (IdEK) organized the event celebrating Research and Innovation in Cyprus.

The competition for the Cyprus Innovation Award has been organized since 2006 by the Cyprus Employers and Industrialists Federation (OEB), contributing towards the competitiveness of Cypriot enterprises. At the same time, the Research and Innovation Foundation (IdEK), aiming to recognize the work of outstanding and young local researchers, has established since 2007 the awarding of annual Research Awards, in an effort to simultaneously support young people and promote distinguished scientists who are active in Cyprus.

The OEB Cyprus Innovation Awards were awarded as follows:

• For the Primary Sector, to the company Andreou Bros Farms Ltd for the innovative method of air conditioning the farrowing building of the sows.

• For the Manufacturing Sector, to Hellenic Minerals Ltd for the production of high purity nickel sulfate hexahydrate by using the hydrometallurgical method.

• For the Services Sector, to Infocredit Group Ltd for the innovative trading behaviour evaluation platform echeck360.com.

• For the Social Innovation Sector, to Karaiskakion Foundation for the creation of the genome recording tool Cyprus Genome Project.

At the ceremony, an Honorary Diploma was awarded to Dr. Philippos Patsalis for his continuous and highly significant contribution to the development and successful implementation of innovative products and methodologies with impressive results in the health sector, applied both in Cyprus and abroad.

The Awards were presented by H.E. the Chairperson of the House of Representatives, Mrs. Annita Demetriou. The event was greeted by Mr. Kyriacos Kokkinos, Deputy Minister of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy, Mr. Antonios Antoniou, Chairman of the Cyprus Employers and Industrialists Federation (OEB) and Dr. Nikolaos Mastroyiannopoulos, Chief Scientist for Research and Innovation of the Republic of Cyprus, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Research and Innovation Foundation and Chairman of the Awards Evaluation Committee.